Strength and Conditioning

The strength and conditioning programme at St Paul’s School guides senior pupils from all years though a Long Term Athletic Development (LTAD) Programme.

It is made up of 5 levels and 5 stages that takes athletes through a 5 year training journey. It is made up of the following components:

  • Movement standards
  • Strength standards
  • Performance standards
  • Preparation progressions
  • Recovery progressions
  • Strength progressions
  • Conditioning progressions
  • Power and speed progressions

The pathway is not sport specific and focuses on improving all rounded athleticism in the key areas considered important. An initial generic approach is used that, overtime, becomes individualised to each pupil dependent on their age, ability, peak height velocity (PHV), peak weight velocity (PWV), bio-banding (maturity + biological versus chronological age), sport, injuries and overall competency.

Pupils cannot progress on to the next stage in a level until they can display the necessary competency in all exercise categories. Additional targets for behaviours and monitoring are also added on to each level. This enables pupils to gain clarity and focus during training whilst progressing through the system and helps develop them as an all-round independent athlete. St Paul’s School incorporates this system into the PE programme across the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Form, empowering pupils to move properly and understand the importance of exercise for fitness, health, wellness, injury prevention and sport performance enhancement.

For further information, please contact Ryan Blake MSc ASCC CSCS, Head Of Strength & Conditioning.